23rd GTA Conference


Wolfgang Metzger Award 2024

The Gestalt Theory Association award is named after Wolfgang Metzger, a student of Max Wertheimer and one of the leading figures of the second generation of the Berlin Gestalt School. It is awarded to innovative scientific work that contributes to the research or application of Gestalt theory in the natural sciences, humanities, social and economic sciences, and other fields.

Since 1999, the Wolfgang Metzger Prize has been awarded by the GTA’s board of directors on the basis of international public competition and the judgment of a worldwide scientific committee based on a blind review of submitted publications.

This year’s winner is the book:

Showing Time: Continuous Pictorial Narrative and the Adam and Eve Story. In memory of Alberto Argenton
(Cham: Springer, 2023) by Laura Messina-Argenton (Padua), Tiziano Agostini (Trieste), Tamara Prest (Padua), and Ian F. Verstegen (Philadelphia).

The awardees will give a talk on September 25 during the conference’s opening ceremony.

Second Paolo Bozzi Award

The award, promoted by the Italian Network for Experimental Phenomenology in agreement with the Society for Gestalt Theory and its Applications, aims at enhancing the tradition fostered by Paolo Bozzi and his figure as a scholar. It is conferred for innovative scholarly work dealing with issues related to experimental phenomenology, considered from a historical, theoretical, or experimental perspective.

Call for application

The winner will be announced by the end of August 2024.
The prize winner will give a short talk on September 25 during the conference’s opening ceremony.